Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Despite my carefully laid plan to un-busy myself, in the past month I’ve made two trips home to Adelaide, survived Events Week at work and redrafted my novel. I’ve also built up an epic sleep debt and really only ventured outside in order to get from my study at home to the work office. Needless to say, when I did finally take a peek out the backdoor on Friday afternoon, the garden was looking somewhat short of spectacular.

With November shaping up to be equally busy, I took the weekend off to sleep in and garden. I picked the last of the broad beans then ripped out the stalks to make make way for summer planting. Then, because slugs had eaten most of the plants i tried to grow from seed, I made a trip to the nursery to flesh out the crop. I also bought a few extra flowers and herbs for the front yard and made a start on drying the current crop of herbs for tea.

I’ve absolutely hated being cooped up inside for the better part of spring (my favourite time of year) and it felt wonderful to finally get back outside, get my hands grubby and let my mind wander.

For all those playing along at home, this is what the garden was looking like when i last posted back in September.

The garden after I mowed the lawn, which was halfway to my knees!

The garden after I mowed the lawn, which was halfway to my knees!

Spring harvest! Heaps of broad beans, which I've now blanched and popped in the freezer, along with a few alpine strawberries and peas.

Spring harvest! Heaps of broad beans, which I’ve now blanched and popped in the freezer, along with a few alpine strawberries and peas.

Broad beans ready for blanching.

Broad beans ready for blanching.

Mint, chocolate mint and lemon verbena ready for drying so that we'll be able to enjoy some lovely homemade herbal tea next winter.

Mint, chocolate mint and lemon verbena ready for drying so that we’ll be able to enjoy some lovely homemade herbal tea next winter.

Broad beans gone, tomatoes and marigolds in.

Broad beans gone, tomatoes and marigolds in.

Mulchin' those mofos.

Mulchin’ those mofos.

This is what I like to call 'panic planting'. I've given next to no thought about where to put anything, so i'll just squish things in where I  can clear a space. Here, I've planted beetroot and chillies between garlic and onions.

This is what I like to call ‘panic planting’. I’ve given next to no thought about where to put anything, so I’ve just squished things in where I can clear a space. Here, I’ve planted beetroot and chillies between garlic and onions.

And then I mulched that shit.

And then I mulched them. Because mulch makes everything better.

Also out the back, the mint continues to go boonta.

Also out the back, the mint continues to go boonta.

My lavender is going strong. I have big plans for drying the flowers for tea and sachets to put in our pillow cases. Because I am an old woman trapped in a  young woman's body.

My lavender is going strong. I have big plans for drying the flowers for tea and sachets to put in our pillow cases. Because I am an old woman trapped in a young woman’s body.

Garlic!

Garlic! Can’t wait for these babies to die so we can enjoy fresh, homegrown garlic again.

Brown onions on the cusp of flowering.

Brown onions on the cusp of flowering.

The raspberry bush.

The raspberry bush is looking a little thirsty, but otherwise flourishing.

The nasturtiums continue to multiply.

The nasturtiums continue to multiply.

The potatoes are getting massive. These babies are the best, I'm telling you. There is nothing like a homegrown potato.

The potatoes are getting massive. These babies are the best, I’m telling you. There is nothing like a homegrown potato.

My experiment to grow a few potatoes in sacks isn't going super well. I need to add more dirt. Also, I cheated and only mowed the lawn around the veggie patch. The other half of the yard remains a jungle. #noshame

My experiment to grow a few potatoes in sacks isn’t going super well. I need to add more dirt. Also, I cheated and only mowed the lawn around the veggie patch. The other half of the yard remains a jungle. #noshame

Out the front, I've planted white alyssum in what I'm hoping will eventually look like a mini cottage garden bed.

Out the front, I’ve planted white alyssum in what I’m hoping will eventually look like a mini cottage garden bed.

And I'm hoping a few zinnias will add a splash of colour to the other bed.

And I’ve planted a few zinnias to add a splash of summer colour to this mostly winter-flowering bed.

I've also potted up a few more herbs and flowers for the verandah.

I’ve also potted up a few more herbs and flowers for the verandah.

The hydrangea is looking very green. Hopefully we'll see some flowers soon.

The hydrangea is looking very green. Hopefully we’ll see some flowers soon.

The iceberg roses are looking just darling. I've got a vase of them in my study.

The iceberg roses are beginning to bloom. 

P1050098

So much healthier than last year.

ALL THE ROSES!!!

AND THERE’S SO MANY! 

Chamomile coming slowly back to life.

Chamomile coming slowly back to life.

Love in a mist just about to flower.

Love in a mist just about to flower.

Geraniums brightening up the side of the house.

Geraniums brightening up the side of the house.

These things too. Not sure what they're called, but they make a lovely canopy to walk through.

These things too. Not sure what they’re called, but they make a lovely canopy outside out bedroom window.

And, finally, the backyard after a weekend's uprooting and planting.

And, finally, the backyard after a weekend’s uprooting and planting.

 

 

 

