Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Finally, FINALLY, the days are growing longer, the weather is warming up and I’ve started pottering around in the garden again.

Despite my neglect over the past few months, the winter crops appear to have fared well. The onions and garlic survived and now I’m just waiting for them to die so that we can enjoy them (SO excited about not having to buy garlic from the supermarket for a little while). My broad beans have also grown into absolute monsters. I read the other day that you’re supposed to pinch out the tips once they start to flower? I didn’t, but we’re enjoying a bumper harvest anyway.

Being spring, many of the perennials are also coming back to life, and little splashes of colour are starting to appear. I’ve also planted up a whole lot of seeds for our spring/summer crops. I got to it a little late this year as I’ve been away a bit for work, but hopefully that won’t prove too much of a setback.

Here’s how our little patch is looking:

P1050017

Not sure what this tree is called, but it's gorgeous! It only flowers for a few weeks each year, but those few weeks are magic.

Not sure what this tree is called, but it’s gorgeous! It only flowers for a few weeks each year, but those few weeks are magic.

A friend kindly gave me this lavender bush when she couldn't get it to grow in a pot on her balcony, and it's just started to flower for the first time! I'm planning to dry some of the flowers in  my dehydrator to make little scented sachets to put in our wardrobes and under our pillows.

A friend kindly gave me this lavender bush when she couldn’t get it to grow in a pot on her balcony, and it’s just started to flower for the first time! I’m planning to dry some of the flowers in my dehydrator to make little scented sachets to put in our wardrobes and under our pillows.

The mint is actually going crazy. I cut a whole lot back yesterday, but I need to be more ruthless or the iris will fall victim to  the mighty mint invasion.

The mint is actually going crazy. I cut a whole lot back yesterday, but I need to be more ruthless or the iris will fall victim to the mighty invasion.

Spring onions and garlic.

Spring onions (maybe also leeks?) and garlic.

P1050037

More garlic.

Brown onions. This is the first time I've grown them and they seem to be surviving okay.

Brown onions. This is the first time I’ve grown them and they seem to be surviving okay.

Broad beans.

Broad beans.

Harvesting the spoils!

Harvesting the spoils!

Strawberry plants - these lil' guys have grown heaps.

Strawberry plants – these lil’ guys have grown heaps.

P1050026

Peas - letting the team down.

Peas – letting the team down.

Empress of India nasturtiums!

Empress of India nasturtiums!

Flowers on the lemon tree.

Flowers on the lemon tree.

Seedlings! Some pesky bird keeps wanting to scratch at the dirt, so I've covered the pots with netting. It doesn't stop the slugs though.

Seedlings! Some pesky bird keeps wanting to scratch at the dirt, so I’ve covered the pots with netting. It doesn’t stop the slugs though.

The raspberry bush is showing signs of new life.

The raspberry bush is showing signs of new life.

Lots of colour starting to appear down the side of the house.

Lots of colour starting to appear down the side of the house.

P1050052

P1050051

Out the front I've cut back all the dead growth from the paper daisies to give them more room to spread out. My little potted herb collection is also doing well, although the verandah doesn't get much sun in winter and birds like to dig around in the pots.

Out the front I’ve cut back all the dead growth from the paper daisies to give them more room to spread out. My little potted herb collection is also doing well, although the verandah doesn’t get much sun in winter and birds like to dig around in the pots.

Paper daisies!

Paper daisies!

P1020611

Gold lace primula.

P1020614

P1050048

The lawn is a little unkempt. I really need to take an afternoon to trim the edges.

New growth on the hydrangea. Can't WAIT until this flowers. It almost  died earlier this year after being chocked by some awful weedy thing. Very glad to see it's bounced back.

New growth on the hydrangea. Can’t WAIT until this flowers. It almost died earlier this year after being chocked by some awful weedy thing. Very glad to see it’s bounced back.

Love in a mist looking all fluffy. Soon there will be flowers!

Love in a mist looking all fluffy. Soon there will be flowers!

Camomile slowly starting to grow back.

The camomile is slowly starting to grow back.

Finally, the roses are also starting to shoot.

Finally, the roses are also starting to shoot.

Very excited to see how everything grows over the next few months, and I’ll do my absolute best to get back in the habit of posting each month. You can also rewind and check out my winter garden.

