Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m in hibernation and pretty well letting the garden run itself until spring. Melbourne is utterly dismal this time of year. I just want to spend all my time reading in front of the heater. But I am trying to be good. Every few weeks I get the mower out, do some weeding and lay fresh mulch where needed. I’ve also planted peas and cleared a whole lot of weed/plant/monster things from the front yard that were choking the hydrangea and a bunch of other bulbs and summer snowflakes I didn’t know where there.

Despite my lack of input, the veggie patch is thriving on its own and it’s really lovely to see a few little flowers in the front yard. Just another month or two and I can get stuck into spring planting!

wintergarden24

The lavender bush is properly settled in and befriending the mint.

The lavender bush is properly settled in and befriending the mint.

Garlic.

Garlic.

More garlic.

More garlic.

Still more garlic.

Still more garlic and I think some spring onions or leeks. 

The broad beans are getting massive and flowering.

The broad beans are getting massive and flowering.

Strawberries.

Strawberries.

Tiny strawberry.

Tiny strawberry.

The peas are just coming through.

The peas are just coming through.

Empress of India Nasturtiums.

Empress of India Nasturtiums.

wintergarden4

Brown onions.

Brown onions.

It doesn't look like much yet, but this bed was completely choked by what i thought was a plant but was actually a weed.

It doesn’t look like much yet, but this bed was completely choked by what I thought was a plant but was actually a weed.

These bulbs were all growing together and hadn't been broken up for years. I managed to split them up without killing them.

These bulbs were all growing together and hadn’t been broken up for years. I managed to split them up without killing them.

Summer snowflakes! I absolutely love these little flowers, mostly because they come out in winter and make the garden that little bit less dreary.

Summer snowflakes! I absolutely love these little flowers, mostly because they come out in winter and make the garden that little bit less dreary.

This guy.

This guy.

wintergarden18

More flowers brightening up the front yard.

wintergarden17

Chillies add a splash of colour.

wintergarden20

My herbs are starting to outgrow their tiny pots. Planning a trip to Bunnings for bigger pots in the next few weeks.

My herbs are starting to outgrow their tiny pots. I’m planning to get hold of some bigger pots int he next few weeks and use these for spring seedlings.

Paper daisies about to bloom. These ladies are going absolutely nuts this year. They're so big and I'm so  proud!

Paper daisies about to bloom. These ladies are going absolutely nuts this year. They’re so big and I’m so proud!

Old rosemary bush going quietly to seed.

Old rosemary bush going quietly to seed.

