Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This time last year I was miserable with the cold and rain. In fact, it felt more like winter in May than it did in July. But this year, the weather has been unseasonably warm and fairly dry (at least by Melbourne standards). There’s been plenty of sunny weekend afternoons for planting and tending my little patch and now I’m good and ready for the winter, with only peas left to plant in June. I’ve put in loads more brown onions, spring onions and leeks and my billy buttons and love-in-a-mist seedlings are slowly pushing out of the earth, so there should be a lot more colour in the garden come spring. Now I just need to keep everything fed, watered and tidy.

Maygar18

My friend's lavender bush wasn't doing well in its pot on her balcony, but it's very happy in this sunny corner, as is the ever-thriving mint.

My friend’s lavender bush wasn’t doing well in its pot on her balcony, but it’s very happy in this sunny corner, as is the ever-thriving mint.

More mint, baby irises and nasturtium.

More mint, baby irises and nasturtium.

Late season marigolds add a splash of colour.

Late season marigolds add a splash of colour.

Spring onions.

Spring onions.

Garlic.

Garlic.

Onions and an out of season potato plant that my mother thinks may actually be deadly nightshade. It's not. It's a potato.

Onions and an out of season potato plant that my mother thinks may actually be deadly nightshade. It’s not. It’s a potato.

More nasturtiums!

More nasturtiums!

Maygar8

The alpine strawberries are flourishing.

The alpine strawberries are flourishing.

Earth waiting to be turned before the chillies come out and the peas go in.

Earth waiting to be turned when the chillies come out so the peas can go in.

Broadbeans!

Broad beans!

These monster are so satisfying to grow. They just get so big so quickly. And they're yummy.

These monster are so satisfying to grow. They just get so big so quickly. And they’re yummy.

Regular strawberries.

Regular strawberries.

Sneaky row of onions between the broad beans and the strawberries.

Sneaky row of onions between the broad beans and the strawberries. I have no idea if any of these are companion plants. I guess I’ll soon find out.

Finally, my little pot plant collection is doing very well. Because there's hardly any flowers in our garden at this time of year, and I'm too stingy to buy cut flowers for indoors, I've been putting a few pot plants indoors as decoration and rotating them every few days so they don't get a vitamin D deficiency : p Also, you can't see it here, but there's tiny billy button seedlings starting to pop up behind the paper daisies.

Finally, my little pot plant collection is doing very well. Because there’s hardly any flowers in our garden at this time of year, and I’m too stingy to buy cut flowers for indoors, I’ve been putting a few pot plants indoors as decoration and rotating them every few days so they don’t get a vitamin D deficiency : p Also, you can’t see it here, but there’s tiny billy button seedlings starting to pop up behind the paper daisies.

How does my garden grow? April 2014March 2014February 2014January 2014, December 2013, November 2013, October 2013, October 2012, August 2012 (when we moved into our rental house).

 

