Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It never ceases to surprise me how the garden seems to come to life in the first weeks of December. It hasn’t even been a full month since I posted (I’m spending the last few weeks of December at home in Adelaide), and yet the garden has just exploded since I last posted at the end of November. The garlic and irises are out and all the summer plants are finally in. Nothing’s quite ready to harvest yet, but it won’t be long now!

Decgar1

The backyard, 15 December 2013.

Decgar2

Potatoes!

Decgar3

The rest of my irises finished flowering weeks ago, and I was digging them up to replant elsewhere for next year when I noticed the buds on this little lady. A few days later, this happened!

Decgar4

The mint continues to take over the lawn. I cannot believe this was just a tiny little stalk not so long ago.

Decgar5

The basil has been a massive uphill battle this year. My first two crops were eaten, and with last year’s supply running dangerously low, I planted this third lot with fingers crossed. The plants are still tiny, but they’ve managed to fight off the bugs so far.

Tomatoes are coming along really well. They're just starting to flower, so hopefully we'll come home to find them fruiting.

Tomatoes are coming along really well. They’re just starting to flower, so hopefully we’ll come home to find them fruiting.

My marionberry bush has actual berries for the first time ever!

My marionberry bush has actual berries for the first time ever!

The chillis I grew from seed are getting tall.

The chillis I grew from seed are getting tall.

Capsicums have graduated from seeds to seedlings.

Capsicums have graduated from seeds to seedlings.

The lemon tree is my big backyard tragedy. It was struck by citrus gall wasp (literally a wasp laid eggs in the branches), and made it really sick. I've snipped the affected branches, but the poor tree is still looking a little worse for wear.

The lemon tree is my big backyard tragedy. It was struck by citrus gall wasp (literally a wasp laid eggs in the branches), and made it really sick. I’ve snipped the affected branches, but the poor tree is still looking a little worse for wear.

Decgar11

Cucumbers staring to take off. I really haven't given these guys enough room, but we'll see what happens.

Cucumbers staring to take off. I really haven’t given these guys enough room, but we’ll see what happens.

Capsicums I bought as seedlings are starting to look like proper plants.

Capsicums I bought as seedlings are starting to look like proper plants.

Rogue tomato bushes that grew up from seed left in the soil from last year are doing better than the ones I planted. I know they're not meant to do well when they grow in last year's soil, but I'm just going to wait and see what happens.

Rogue tomato bushes that grew up from seed left in the soil from last year are doing better than the ones I planted. I know they’re not meant to do well when they grow in last year’s soil, but I’m just going to wait and see what happens.

Lettuce starting to look like a lettuce rather than a weed.

Lettuce starting to look like a lettuce rather than a weed.

Alpine strawberries going nuts. The fruit is delish, when i can get to it before the birds.

Alpine strawberries going nuts. The fruit is delish, when i can get to it before the birds.

More strawberries. I think these guys are wild sweeties. Sadly the birds love them just as much as I do.

More strawberries. I think these guys are wild sweeties. Sadly the birds love them just as much as I do.

My beans have really taken to their makeshift climbing frames and, even though they're still little, they're already starting to flower!

My beans have really taken to their makeshift climbing frames and, even though they’re still little, they’re already starting to flower!

My chamomile is flowering. I planted it for tea, but the flowers are so pretty i almost can't bear to pick them.

My chamomile is flowering. I planted it for tea, but the flowers are so pretty i almost can’t bear to pick them. Almost. 

The love in a mist seed I scattered has turned into a green monster.

The love in a mist seed I scattered in spring has turned into a green monster.

The hydrangeas are my absolute favourite thing in the garden. I'm determined not to let them get burnt or wilty this year.

The hydrangeas are my absolute favourite thing in the garden. I’m determined not to let them get burnt or wilty this year.

More hydrangeas. Sadlu these guys are hidden behind the behind the bins and a giant bush. The joys of renting.

More hydrangeas. Sadlu these guys are hidden behind the behind the bins and a giant bush. The joys of renting.

Our front yard, looking a bit scraggly with the foxgloves on their last legs but still a big improvement from the mud patch it was this time last year.

Our front yard, looking a bit scraggly with the foxgloves on their last legs but still a big improvement from the mud patch it was this time last year.

Decf=gar25

Last of the foxgloves.

Last of the foxgloves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

