Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The weather this month has been nuts. Freezing with torrential rain one day, and warm, bright sunshine the next. But overall, it’s been colder than usual, even for Melbourne. So much for spring. But the mix of sun and rain has been good for the garden. And the weeds. My God, the hours I’ve spent crawling around in the dirt pulling the damn things out, only to find a new crop thriving within a few days. Ugh! BUT, I’ve finally got most of my veggies in for summer and the bare patches of earth you saw last month are rapidly disappearing. A garden is slowly rising from the winter quagmire.

To see how much the garden has grown in just one month, this was my October garden.

novgar10

novgar11

My tomatoes are still quite small, but seeing as I only planted the seeds in September, they're doing pretty well. Until yesterday, there was a border of irises along this bed, but now that they've finished flowering I've dug them up to move them elsewhere and give the toms a little more sun.

My tomatoes are still quite small, but seeing as I only planted the seeds in September, they’re doing pretty well. Until yesterday, there was a border of irises along this bed, but now that they’ve finished flowering I’ve dug them up to move them elsewhere and give the toms a little more sun.

novgar14

Lemon verbena (my favourite FAVOURITE herb) growing slowly but surely. I can’t wait to start using the leaves for tea.

garnov9

I’ve put in some green and purple beans. These old clothes racks were bound for the tip after the cat jumped all over them and bent them out of shape, but I thought I’d see if the beans might enjoy climbing on them too.

garnov8

Behind the beans are rows of baby beetroot. Last year I planted a whole lot of different varieties, but my man still liked the pink ones the best, so this year all pink is what he’s getting.

The border of strawberries along this side of the patch is doing well too! These two have been in since last year and i'd just put in a whole lot of freshly divided ones to make up the row. They're still small, but they're full of new growth.

The border of strawberries along this side of the patch is doing well too! These two have been in since last year and i’d just put in a whole lot of freshly divided ones to make up the row. They’re still small, but they’re full of new growth.

 

On the other side of the patch, the nastirtiums continue to thrive.

On the other side of the patch, the nasturtiums continue to thrive.

Capsicums, cucumbers and chillis planted way too close together, but what the heck. It's going to be a jungle out there soon!

Capsicums, cucumbers and chillis planted way too close together, but what the heck. It’s going to be a jungle out there soon!

A few rogue tomato plants have popped up from last year's seeds. They probably won't do well in the same soil, but I figured they've made it this far, so they deserve a chance.

A few rogue tomato plants have popped up from last year’s seeds. They probably won’t do well in the same soil, but I figured they’ve made it this far, so they deserve a chance.

garnov6

I’d almost given up on my peas, but one big downpour and they came good. Now it looks like we might end up with a better crop than last year. Ain’t nothing like sitting barefoot in the backyard on a warm afternoon shelling peas. Hurry up summer!

The main strawberry patch is at the back of the bed. These are mostly alpine strawberries and they're already bearing tiny delicious fruit.

The main strawberry patch is at the back of the bed. These are mostly alpine strawberries and they’re already bearing tiny delicious fruit.

I've been trying to get some lettuce going, but I'm in constant battle with the arms of slugs that have set up camp in our backyard.

I’ve been trying to get some lettuce going, but I’m in constant battle with the arms of slugs that have set up camp in our backyard.

Our first lemons are ripening!

Our first lemons are ripening!

Baby marigolds and capsicums. These are my third go at marigolds this year. The first two lots go eaten by slugs :(

Baby marigolds and capsicums. These are my third go at marigolds this year. The first two lots go eaten by slugs 😦

I've also got some chillis growing in a pot as well as in the ground, but unlike the ones in the ground, i grew these babies from seed.

I’ve also got some chillis growing in a pot as well as in the ground, but unlike the ones in the ground, i grew these babies from seed.

My marionberry is finally flowering this year!

My marionberry is finally flowering this year!

My raspberry bush isn't doing as well as I would like, but hopefully with a little love, it will perk up in the coming weeks.

My raspberry bush isn’t doing as well as I would like, but hopefully with a little love, it will perk up in the coming weeks.

The potatoes, however, are thriving. So proud of these guys!

The potatoes, however, are thriving. So proud of these guys!

My little collection of succulents are just chug-chug-chugging along.

My little collection of succulents are just chug-chug-chugging along.

And the mint continues with its mission to overrun the lawn.

And the mint continues with its mission to overrun the lawn.

Round the front, the chamomile is just about to flower. Cannot wait to make fresh chamomile tea again.

Round the front, the chamomile is just about to flower. Cannot wait to make fresh chamomile tea again.

Mint is growing in the strangest of places.

Mint is growing in the strangest of places.

My love in a mist is getting big and strong.

My love in a mist is getting big and strong.

Excitment of excitements, my hydrangeas are begining to flower!

Excitment of excitements, my hydrangeas are beginning to flower!

And last but not least, in their THIRD spring, these lovely ladies have finally   unferled.

And last but not least, in their THIRD spring, these lovely ladies have finally unfurled. This is particularly awesome, as they are an insecticidal. Perfect for launching an attack on the slug army. Let’s see them try and eat my marigolds now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

