Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Aside from some broccoli, cauliflower, spinach and (what I suspect is a failed crop of) garlic, I let the garden go over winter. It was too cold and wet to be fossicking around in the dirt. But on the first sunny day I was back out there digging beds, planting seeds and (in true Gen Y spirit) taking pictures.

One day I hope to have a sprawling garden full of fruit trees, veggies and bougainvillea, but for now we rent and, while our landlord is extremely tolerant, there’s only so much landscaping I can get away with. Out the back I’ve dug three smallish plots for veggies and out the front I’m slowly filling the once-empty flower beds.

Last year was my first year with a veggie patch and I grew a bit of everything. Some things, like tomatoes and beetroots, we couldn’t get enough of and others, like eggplants, we hardly touched. This year I’m growing fewer but bigger crops of last year’s favourites, along with a few new things as well.

I’ll keep you posted and let you know how it all turns out. Forgive the less-than-amazing photos. My poor little phone tends to freak out: ‘Argh! So much light! So much to focus on!’

Out back

 

 

Seedlings ready for planting.

Seedlings ready for planting

Blank canvas

Blank canvas

Putting the Dutch Cream potatoes to bed

Putting the Dutch Cream potatoes to bed

And they're off!

And they’re off!

spinach1

I optimistically thought we’d be really healthy and eat lots of spinach. It went to seed without us eating more than a few leaves. Ah, well, maybe next year.

Tomatoes have gone in in place of the spinach

They’re hard to see because they’re still quite tiny, but tomatoes have replaced the spinach

And yes, those are irises you can see along the border of the tomato patch. My neighbour gave them to me last year and it was the only sunny spot I had for them.

Yes, those are irises you can see along the border of the tomato patch. My neighbour gave them to me last year and it was the only sunny spot I had for them.

And they're so PRETTY!

And they’re so PRETTY!

My mint is doing extremely well. I'm hoping if I just let it go it will take over the whole lawn.

My mint is doing extremely well. I’m hoping if I just let it go it will take over the whole lawn.

I've divided up my strawberries and put most of them in the ground rather than in pots this year.

I’ve divided up my strawberries and put most of them in the ground rather than in pots this year.

The raspberry bush has also come back to life. Hopefully we'll get a good crop this year!

The raspberry bush has also come back to life. Hopefully we’ll get a good crop this year!

Chillis are in

Chillis are in

And there's still more chillis to come

And there’s still more chillis to come

Baby basil

Baby basil

Pleasantly surprised to find these little nastirtiums pop up from failed crop last year. They're the Empress of India variety and I just love the darker leaves and bright flowers.

Pleasantly surprised to find these little nasturtiums pop up from failed crop last year. They’re the Empress of India variety, and I just love the darker leaves and bright flowers.

Back yard October 2013

Back yard October 2013

On the side

sidegarden

sidegarden2

Out front

 

gnome

Love in a mist seedlings to brighten up the front yard

Love in a mist seedlings to brighten up the front yard

herbs

I’ve moved most of my herbs out the front this year to make more room for veggies out the back

Borriage looked like it wasn't going to survive the transplant, but it's come back kicking

Borriage looked like it wasn’t going to survive the transplant, but it’s come back kicking

 

Summer 2012

Summer 2012

Now

Spring 2013

Spring 2012

Spring 2012

Spring 2013

Spring 2013

Hehe. This one's on loan from a friend. You think I could be mature about these things, but I giggle every time I see it.

Hehe. This one’s on loan from a friend. You think I could be mature about these things, but I giggle every time I see it.

buddha

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

