Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Held every Saturday and Sunday from 11-5, the Rose Street Artists’ Market is a bit of a Melbourne legend. I’ve been meaning to get along ever since we moved here and it was only today that I finally made the journey and it was well worth the wait.

The first stall sold cacti and bonsai and to get to the market proper we had to walk through a miniature desert garden and if the Mister hadn’t been there to restrain me, I would have bought every single plant home.

There was an amazing variety wares: second hand books straight off my To Read list; handmade home and earthenwares; mini gardens in fish bowls; cacti growing out of toy dinosaurs; beautiful, intricate dioramas that I can’t even begin to describe in old cigar cases; a hair dressing service; restored bicycles; paintings; origami wall hangings; clothes; cards; jewellery and dozens of others.

The Rose Street Artists’ Market is also home to a quirky little cafe where you can refuel after your market explorations and, best of all, the market is home to the Humble Vintage Bike Hire Co. I’ve been wanting to check these guys out for ages and they’re every bit as cool as I hoped. If you want to go for a bit of a pedal back in yesteryear or just fit in with the local retro scene, these guys can sort you out. Even I, who has a distain for any bike without track geometry, found myself eyeing off some of the beautifully restored step throughs.

Basically, the Rose Street Artists’ Market had everything I could want in a weekend: bikes, coffee, plants and pretty things.

Pots outside the entrance

So tiny! So cute!

These dioramas were absolutely gorgeous! I may have to go back for one next time I’m at the market.

