Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love a good market and Markit@FedSquare is one of the best I’ve discovered in my Melbourne wanderings so far. It was held from 10-5 in the atrium at Fed Square and featured stalls from some of my favourite Australian designers, including Retro Print Revival, Lavallier and Sunday Morning Designs. There were four main types of stalls: jewellery, prints & cards, accessories (bags, wallets, notebooks etc) and homewares. Pretty much what you’d expect at this type of market, although the stalls at Markit were of a particularly high standard

Markit was absolutely packed and just getting a peek at some of the stalls required several polite ‘Excuse me!’s and when they failed, a well-placed hip check did the trick (it never ceases to surprise me how often roller derby training comes in handy on what should be rather more ‘dainty’ occasions).

I was lucky enough to visit Markit with two of my closest friends (one had come all the way from Adelaide). I gathered a stack of business cards from my favourite stalls and am looking forward to a lovely evening of browsing with a cup of tea. Of course, I couldn’t leave without a little something…

Gorgeous prints

I’m not much of a jewellery person, but I love these rings. The fox is my favourite.

I am obsessed with Retro Print Revival’s lamp shades. I didn’t have room for one in my bag, but am currently devising a pitch to convince the mister our home will not be complete until we have one. There are even Very Hungry Caterpillar shades!

An. Entire. Wall. Of. Pots. There aren’t words for how much I love this. If we end up moving to another house without much yard, I’m installing one of these babies.

I adore these cushions.

Na na na na na na na na BOOK JOURNALS!!! My bestie gave me one of these made from a vintage copy of Wuthering heights a few years back. It’s one of my most treasured possessions.

I want all of these in my house, please.

I just had to take this gorgeous Lavallier vase home with me. Buying bits ‘n’ bobs for our little apartment is still a novelty. I love having our own little space to look after and make beautiful.

